Monday, May 14, 2012

White Lies...

Date: 05/14/2012
Shift = Lunch
Weather = perfection. surf- perfection. temp-  85degrees of perfection. and me at work. tsk tsk tsk

So lately its been pretty steady. Ive had 110.00 days plus my hourly at The Cage.. we have had days that are already leaving me sweaty, makeupless, and almost asleep on my feet. I have 2 weeks until the tourist shit storm hits. I seriously grow a little more afraid every single day. I realize to make the kind of money I will need to sustain me through the winter I am going to have to work nights. I have been requesting one here and there and even though Im ready to walk out with 300.00 per shift in cash I dont know if I can endure working while I see a 2 hours worth of wait time out in the lobby, bars, and playground. When I say its madness, I mean it, I got a taste over springbreak and it was just enough to make this wide eyed former corporate drone shake in her Reebok Shape Ups ( its all about the ass you know...)

My only issue facing me is that I like working days.. I cant make but maybe a 100.00 ish a day on a lunch shift and this simply will not do. The reason I cant make as much during the day is because we share a large parking lot with a public beach... that fills up at 10:00 am... and so people wanting to just come have lunch cannot park.. and therefore do not come in to eat... you see my point? I have begun to look here and there down on the Harborwalk where people stay at the Emerald Grand and Shop all the posh little beach shops. There is unlimited parking and all kinds of festivals that make your winter work days profitable as well. I was offered a job at a place called Tightlines ( the real name ) and I was hired to bar tend upstairs in the resturant  portion during the day and maybe serve a little too. The day they hired me I called Kat and had her apply because we are now a smashing tag team duo and I had visions of us tossing bottles "Cocktail" style and they hired her on the spot as well. I was told I am allowed to wear whatever Id like and so therefore they opened the door to advertise my Hog gear in all colors and shorts. Why is this post titled "White Lies" you may ask... Wellllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll What had happened was... I told them I had bartenders experience... 10 years ago.... and just hadnt done it in a really long time. This is KIND of true. My bartending skills involve pitcher pouring from Big Daddys bar and grill when I was 21. That was... never mind how long ago that was. Bottomline.. I want bar tending experience here. If you are in this industry here in Destin.. bar tending is the way to go. Dont believe me? Ask the guys at AJ's making 200k a year.

Anyhow, Im supposed to go in tomorrow and start training to day bar tend ONE day a week during the day and I am a bit nervous. Yes its on the Harborwalk. Yes its SEC and fishing themed which I happen to love. BUT... for the past ten years my bar tending experience has been limited to my throwing stuff in a glass at home or at tailgates and calling it a masterpiece. The other problem is that they dont yet have a POS system and its all done the old fashioned way. Carbon tickets. Also there are no assigned sections. People come in and sit down and there are no servers on the floor you take them and run it all. Make drinks for people at the bar and then run food. This seems like a cluster fuck in the making so, of course, who signed up for it? This girl. Im going to go try it on though. Whats the worst that can happen?? ( you see right there... I cursed myself )

The bottom of Tightlines holds a club called The Deep in that bumps until 0400 and I want NO part of that. Id rather be tied up and whipped with a wet rope than have to endure a club job. I have been reassured that I dont have to deal with it and so there fore I have agreed to one day or night a week at Tightlines. If tomorrow is awful then I will be just a Lobster Cager... So lets just see what happens. Hey I get to wear Hog stuff every day in Fl and so therefore thats worth one day a week of randomness. I hope. Kat trained last night and said it was disorganized chaos so ... pray. Pray that no one comes in and orders something difficult to make.. if bad comes to worse Ill just pull out the trusty Iphone and google recipes. Can you just picture the bewilderment on a customers face? Ill try to grab a pic of it while I have the phone out googling something gay like "Baybreeze"  Ill practice the bottle tossing at a later date. Baby Steps.

I hope you vacationers have already booked your condos and planned to come see me at either establishment. The area is booking up for the Summer and  I am easily the sweetest and the most personable waitress here. Just dont hit on me or bitch about stupid stuff. Or ask me to fetch you mustard for your cheesesticks ( this happened today and it made me gag) Come in, tell me you love my work, order alot of stuff, and leave a 20% tip. My charm and the view are worth the trip alone. Just eat drink and get up.. I have other tables to tend to. :)

Love to you all and in closing I am enclosing todays drink of choice; The Fluffy Screwdriver... Its whipped cream vodka and OJ. It will take you back to the days of the Flinstones Push up Pop Ice Cream. Its not as good as the Ginger-Ale and whipped cream vodka... but is a nice wind me down while I sit on my balcony and watch the Destin sunset.

Cheers to you all. xx






No comments:

Post a Comment