Friday, March 9, 2012

Spring has SPRUNG!

03/09/12
Shifts = monday lunch, tuesday dinner, wednessday lunch, thursday lunch, and friday lunch.
Weather = Warm and sunny with the exception of todays cloudyness.

Apologies for being pretty behind in my blogs, we are getting our moving details finalized and I have been working out hard and very worn out because of it. We now have to be at work at 0945 instead of 1000 so that puts me up at 0630 to workout, shower, get Blake ready for school, take her, come home, eat breakfast, finish getting ready and arrive on time for work. To say my mornings are rushed again is an understatement.

This week has been pretty hit and miss. Monday was a complete waste of time. I made like 12 dollars, Tuesday night was better, and these last couple of days have been great. Springbreak is setting in and the old cheap snowbird menu is gone and we now no longer have the .29 gumbo if you order a meal ( ok yes we do if YOU bring it up and ask for it but trust me, we will not be advertising it!) I could not be happier about this because I am SO over busting my ass for stuff that at 20% tip average will award me 2.00 per entree. Our new menu is pretty superb I must say, great fresh fish selections, amazing shrimp choices, ( if you ever get the option to have bronzed shrimp.. take it. just trust me on this. mouthwatering and pretty healty.) Im also told we will be chargrilling oysters this summer at the beach bar. So please, if you want great food made in a pristine kitchen, and at a fair price then we are the place to be.

This week we have Auburn and one or tow more large semi local colleges on Springbreak and those travelers are expected to show up this weekend and stay the week. I was happy to have some kids sit at my table from Harding University on Springbreak from Conway Arkansas we all tipped me like 40% per ticket to show appreciation for my representing Arkansas on the beach. You see I wear my Razorback wrist watch every shift I have for two reasons... One so that people can proudly profess their love of Razorback Nation, or give me a hard time about it, which establishes 30 minute friendships that typically result in an increae in tip average.
Anyway, as I was saying they tipped me great and after they left I noticed something about the crew of kids that were coming in over the age of 21. If 4 college kids came in this was what they consist of, 3 girls on vacation with their best gay guy friend. Im telling you, one out of every 3 or 4 tables of mine has a kid ordering sweet tea with a feminine swag in his voice. And, hey, I dig it. I love gay men. Fabulous dressers, they will tell you the truth if you look fat or not, and they typically are just a blast to get drunk with. I wish I had had a gay best friend at that age. Especially if he would have been like these boys and would have sprang for the expensive foofy cocktails! What I didnt love this week were the moms bringing in their college kids and their friends, ordering 132.00 worth of food and leaving me a 10.00 tip... seriously ladies.. learn to tip. Especially when you are the last table to leave at night, I have bagged up your stupid left overs, and kept your drinks full the entire time you ran me like a workhorse. You cant even blame your math mistake on alcohol because you ordered something totally annoying like Tonic water and lime that I still have to get from the bar. You piss me off and I dont want to waste my time on you after you order, have your drinks refilled once, and have all your fucking tarter sauce ok? Order, eat, tip me crappy, and just leave. Spring and Summer are all about table turn over so please take your crappy tipping asses on after you are done eating.

Earlier in my job I had some issues fitting in and feeling welcomed. ( you may have noticed this in some of my snottier angry posts) but as I predicted since we got new kids in its been nice. Kat, Gita, Alice, and even most of the head wait have warmed up to me. Hell I was invited to go drink after work Tuesday night by Lana and Alice this past week and it took my by such surprise that I almost dropped the plates I was carrying. It made my heart smile. ( sad sad sad... ) of course I didnt go but to be asked was super nice. Today I went and had drinks with Kat after work and some oysters too at Pompano Joes further down on the beach. We arent allowed to drink where we work so we take ourselves beach front and compare our floral flair to the hideous tiki shirts they have to wear. Sadly, I like ours better. I dont know how its possible but its true. Here are some pictures of my post workday fun on this cloudy Friday. Hope you all have a greata weekend. Mine will be spent on the beach and rearranging and sorting through a storage unit. Jealous? Yeah, I would be too. Except for the storage unit part. Maybe I can "pull a muscle" during my workout and Chad can have all the fun.  OMG im so smart I amaze and impress myself. You text him and tell on me and I will end your life!! Happy Friday !!!!!



Rocking my flair, my new beach shades, and my beer. No this is NOT where I work. We arent allowed to drink there. Bummer... I know. BTW... That coconut cream cake was off the charts... and totally made my workout a waste of time. Ps doesnt Kat look like Neve Campbell?