Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Where have I been? Doin it!! Work that is.....

Date: April 11, 2011.. sorry
Shift= Lunch
Weather = 81 degrees and the gulf was almost glass like today. heavenly.

Well guess who is back? Ill bet you all through working beachside in Destin over Springbreak killed me or something. Close... but not quite. Add moving with little more help than that a dolly or a luggage cart during SB and then traveling home for a wedding and you have my life from March until today. So much has happened and changed and transpired that I cant possibly fill in all the stories right now but give me time and it will all come out.

Latest Work Developments..
 G as previously mentioned in blogs below has been FIRED.  Apparently he went crazy and went on a trantroumous rage in the kitchen while I was home in Arkansas and got himself canned. Its a shame all the sexual harrasment, religious persecution, and general stupidity werent enough to do this sooner... it took him flying off the handle about something stupid Im sure... well stupid to you and I, Im sure but Im sure his fit of rage was over something life or death to him. Like sent back french fries. WTF knows. Or cares. Thank God its over. No pun intended there, G. Ok yes there is, too bad so sad.

I am no longer the step child of The Cage. This had already sort of happened a while back when the new bunch were hired and the alpha dogs found fresh meat to pray on. I still try and be nice to the new kids but I myself had a moment and snapped on one last night. I feel bad about it. I think he may have cried. Twice. We will discuss in the story below.

SB brought in money! The old menu is out and the new one is IN. Its awesome. Its priced correctly for the view and food we provide, and I dont have to run .29 gumbo to tables by the gallons anymore. My slowest days generate me 50-60.00 on a lunch shift and evenings are now pulling 150.00-170.00 although thats not ideal we have to remind ourselves that Summer doesnt start until May. I would like to stop and thank all the college kids that came in and tipped appropriately. You growups could take a lesson. Im serious, 5.00 on a 150.00 tab woman... I should have slapped you with that skewer of shrimp. I wish I had.

Personal Updates :
WE MOVED!  By gawd finally we moved. It took a week and a half of back and fourth with a dolly and a luggage cart but its done. We have a great view of the sunsets and can see a little bit of the water. I am satisfied. I had to give up the couch that has been unanimously voted as the best couch ever from friends near and far because it would not go up the stairs or elevator to our new 9th floor dwelling. I mourned this because this "thing" they call a couch in this condo is like rough, hard, ugly, burlap. So I spend most of my time in the over sized chair that could be moved that matches the couch or on our heavenly balcony. Its like a second living room because our stupidly big TV can be seen and heard from it.. especially since the spouse hooked up our surround sound. ( You are soooo welcome for the subwolfer booms 8th floor neighbors! =) ) 

Personal Devistation = Bobby Petrino, Head coach of the Arkansas Razorbacks has been fired for hiring his mistress, paying her 20k for what I assume is sex or tokens of his undying love. Ps he is like 50 and she is 25. Im sure he was in love. With her ass. Anyway.. Im still a Razorback fan and Im sure he is going to be a stand up guy and help the poor woman carry on with her life after he denied her being on his motorcycle when it wrecked. Isnt that how it goes? The text message and phone call reports show her being his first call of the day since September.. but in the aftermath of it all he couldnt even admit he was with her in an accident. Strange. Sad. Mrs. Petrino Im sorry that this happened to you. I have thought about you a lot over the last couple of days. Stay strong.
But alas, I shall Keep Calm and Whoo Pig On. I love my Hogs. No one man is bigger than that football program and we shall over come this scandal. Bobby and Jessica? Who knows. Next week no one will care. I hope. Who am I kidding.. Its going to take me years to get over this heartache. I loved you Bobby. I really did.


And so during the lull that is April - May I will bring you more stories and pictures because I am being bombed with requests for them ( love that by the way. ) and I promised a true account of beach life for a professional who lost her way here. Or was relocated. Whatever.

Todays Tale:

As mentioned above I almost made a new kid cry. I am not proud of this. I vowed to myself I would not be an asshole to new staff because I first hand know what its like to be the dog they kick when frustrated. Im sorry Mario for kicking you emotionally.

Last night I worked because its approaching time to work nights to make worthwhile money. I wont be able to work many nights, 2 nights a week tops because of my little person at home. Chad works the stupid awful retail hours and so there fore I must accomodate.  So last night was one of my worknights for the week and I was put in a fairly slow section because I was a little late Im sure. So be it. Mario was in an area next to my section and walked out as I was standing waiting for a table just outside the front wait. He was carrying two soft drinks in his hands and proceeded to walk by and cough open mouthed in my face. Two others standing next to me fully expected me to grab him by the colar and knee him in the face for it. ( they are getting to know the inner me a little more everyday ) I hiss at him so that tables dont hear me and say " That is disgusting, you stupid jackass!" and take my towel to my face. He delivers his drink and makes his way over to me to attempt at an apology saying he was trying not to cough in the drink. Well look dude, just turn your head the other way and keep your mouth closed next time for crying out loud. I dont say this but say its ok and Im over it.

The resturant begins to fill up and Im triple sat in no time. Im standing at a POS system and have just fininshed ringing in an order and about to enter another when he reaches around me, exits out of my screen, and begins to put his order in. This time I sort of went off. Loud. I whirled around at him and say " Excuse me dammit I wasnt fucking done at that machine!!" I exit him out and practically throw him out of the way. Rude? a tad. But that was strike two. Heat rose up in my cheeks and I felt bad and unprofessional and knew I was acting like the people I dislike at work but it just sort of flew out of my mouth. I had just been told my coach had been fired and coughed on! IN.THE.FACE!! So my fuse wasnt short, it was non existant. His mouth fell open and he sort of shuffled away. Im such a jerk. Ill make it up to him. Ill be nice and say hi next time we work together. He is about 5'5" and 90lbs and barely speaks english. He could probably use a little kindness.
The only other time I shot off last night was at a manager ( surprise surprise ) because the jackass let me wipe all the trays down using Clorox and not the blasted Spic and Span and then tells me " Uh hey Shannon, we have to use Spic and Span on those or the trays lose their tread that holds plates in place." normally I would have just taken a wet cloth to them and bit my tounge till it bled but it was 10 pm and I was sick of overhearing the drama on ESPN and Mario so I look at him and of course say, " Oh Cool Jerry, Thanks for the heads up on that one, its not like Ive already done all 30 trays or anything and dont stink like bleach and my hands arent dried out and stinging.. thats cool." He says nothing because he knows his bald punk ass did it to me on purpose.  I guess I was a bit keyed up last night. My bad.

So you may be wondering.. "Havent you been having any fun Shannon? Hells bells YES I have! Kat and I have a ritual of 1.00 beers, oysters, and coconut cake at Pompano Joes after work when we work the lunch shift together. We also crashed and 80's themed Bday party held at the bar at the resort I live. We wore our floral flair and I have provided pictures below for your enjoyment. Im sorry there is no video to us doing the kick shuffle dance to "Footloose" alone on the dance floor while people looked at us like we were insane. Ill do better next time.
When we went home I got to see Boom!Kinetic where they recognized me from Twitter and pulled me up on stage where I rocked it out to some " Come on Eileen". I seriously had whiplash the next day from the dancing and crazy hair whipping. I needed it so very badly and they have no idea what a fan for life I am. Such a fan that I actually risked brutal murder from a bride because I was sore and semi hung over in her wedding the next day. Im sorry Christal but I kept it together. You know I can get it done girl. ;)

So thats it pretty much and here we are now and I am back in full blogging force. So stay tuned and enjoy the pictures below. Happy Spring Everyone!!


 The new view from the new place!
 Big City lights of Destin
 Early morning, week one of SB
 The section that requires running stairs.
We crash parties in our "flair"
 Bridesmaids!!!
 Boom!Kinetic!!
 Now THIS is how you enjoy a concert!
 Nooo. I love YOU more Zach!
 Cannot believe I hugged him looking like this and being this sweaty!
 Shannon do NOT fall off the step at Old Main...
The blushing bride and her Maid of Dishonor.


Feel a bit better fans? The best is yet to come.

CHEERS!!!