02/06/2012
Shift = Lunch
Weather = 75 degree sunny perfection
Today began with me being in a sort of pouty pissy mood. I wasnt feeling my monday and didnt relish the start of my work week today ( although I should be ashamed.. my daughter is in school longer than I actually work in a day now, how great is that??) I lazed about and got ready and went in to work to find two new kids waiting to start their first day of training. YAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its begun!!! Im NOT new anymore!!
There wasnt a lot of work to be done this morning as far as prep work goes so we basically did the minimum, ordered our lunches, and waited for the day to start. I will say this, starting off my day with a fresh 1/2lb of pull and peel shrimp and a some gumbo with no rice is nice. Really really nice in fact. Vintage disco was blaring out of the kitchen and some of us found ourselves doing an impromptu "buss stop" dance line while we waited for 11:00 am to roll around. So lets recount; fresh seafood, disco, and smiles on my Monday.
Also great was the fact I was put on the deck for my section and had to wait until all the window tables were full until I could be sat. The deck is the elevated portion of the main dining room that has a water view in every seat. Why no one asks to sit there all the time I dont know. I only had about 5 tables of my own but made great money today. All my people really seemed to like me that came in and tipped well. My last table of the day was an 8 top that I think was being treated as a reward for something. The boss paid and used one of those black, metal, very heavy, American Express Cards. Someone said you have to spend at least a million dollars for like three years in a row to obtain one of those suckers. Must.Be.Nice. He tipped me over 20% and they were actually a joy to wait on. All of their food came out perfectly and my day seemed to fly by. I had minimal side work of soup line prep and dish put up. I skipped out of work happy that business was picking up and that I had 3 more days of good money to look forward too. OH! PS the mean girl I spoke of in my Kick Starting It post was weirdly nice to me. No one at work knows about this blog so I know my rant didnt provoke it. She seriously complimented me several times today and offered to peel my shrimp for me since she could tell I thought it was icky. What. The. Hell?? It was like a 180 in behavior. Whatever sparked the niceness Ill take it because its much nicer when the veterans are nice to you. Oh and she was stoned out of her mind. Maybe Im only likeable if you are high? Sweet, again, Ill take it.
I finished my day and changed into my Hog tank top and met Chad for drinks at Millers Ale House. $6.00 pitchers and $4.99 stir fry makes me happy. Mondays may be mundane but at least mine was a good one. I had no stupid questions, no random strange requests ( unless your count black AMEX guy asking you for malt vinegar to dip his clam strips in.. EWWWWWWWWWW, and no coffee chugging old snow birds demanding pick out the okra seeds in their gumbo. I got to work with people I actually enjoy being around today and if the rest of the week keeps with this pace Ill be a happy little beach waitress. Bring it! Bring it! Bring IT!!!! Im ready for this week and the hot weather and tourist terrorist cant get here fast enough! Cmon Big Money, NO WHAMMIES!!
The ever exciting laundry and glass of wine await me tonight. Its early to bed because I have "Muffins With Mom" in the morning at school, a workout, and another exciting day of work tomorrow. Hope everyone had a happy Monday.
Cheers Ya'll!
No comments:
Post a Comment